My story so far

So this post is going to be about me. I know that it’s not the most exciting topic, but maybe hearing my story so far can help someone either avoid what I have done or be able to see what their future path might look like.

As I’ve said before, I came out on deployment in August of 2023 knowing that I’m going to retire from the US Navy in 2024. I had a pretty good government job lined up, but I didn’t know if I wanted to work for the government anymore. I kinda want to see what this freedom stuff is all about. So I needed to have another plan and keep that one in my back pocket just in case.

I started asking my friends that weren’t in the military how they liked their jobs to see if there was anything that I might like to do. One of my friends jokingly said, “learn to code”. At first I thought that it was funny, but the more I thought about it the more the idea seemed appealing. I mean, I’m on deployment, I have time, why don’t I at least give it a shot?

I researched some things that I needed to download to get started and ordered some books online. When we hit our first port I downloaded VS Code and Node.js and my wife received the books and sent them out. I started learning HTML and CSS. It was fun to be able to create a website on my computer from folders that I had on my desktop. I liked being able to style it up and had a really good time being able to see the progress that I was making. I was hooked. This was something that I would enjoy doing for quite a while.

My next step was to learn an actual programming language (no offense to anyone that does HTML/CSS for a living). I fist chose JavaScript and got a copy of Eloquent JavaScript. I started to read it, but that book is insane. HOT TAKE: That book is not for beginners. I spent about a month on the first 3 chapters and got essentially nowhere. I highly recommend Head first: JavaScript first and THEN go to Eloquent JavaScript. You will get much more out of the book.

Anyway, I decided that this is what I want to do. I researched some bootcamps and looked into the Skillbridge program. I had a plan and everything. I was completing applications to a bootcamp that I thought would be a good one. I had been in constant contact with their enrollment team and got everything set up and then BAM! One of the people that I had reached out to on LinkedIn took a look at my plan and said, “That’s not enough. Do this instead”. He knows more than me, so I decided to change the bootcamp that I was going to (still in the process of that) and apply to some CS prep courses for when I get back. I feel pretty good about my plan now. I really appreciate the help too.

One note about the tech community on LinkedIn.

Everyone is AWESOME! Every single person that I have talked to and asked for advice has been more than open and excited for me. They haven’t held back any secrets and have answered every question that I have. EVERYONE! It seems like they welcome anyone. Even someone with a spotty internet and no experience. They have been great. A big thank you to everyone.

So that’s where I’m at now. I think that I’ll probably post a blog like this about every 3 months or so just to let everyone know how I’m doing and allow me to look back at how far I’ve come.

I’m really excited for the next chapter of my life and I’m extremely thankful for the feedback I have received.